Spread the love, or breeding creativity

I was reading something about creativity, about what distinguishes highly creative people, and one interesting theory is that people become creative due to dealing with difficult circumstances.  Adversity forces us to approach the world in new ways, to see things differently.

I believe that’s probably true … honestly some of the most creative people I’ve known are the outcasts, the ones who don’t meet society’s, or their family’s, standards … the ones who maybe have experienced some things that … changed … them. 

Now, this could be a chicken-or-egg kind of thing … are they different, and so the world treats them differently, or vice versa?  I do know that adversity can break people too, so I wouldn’t advocate it as a means of self-exploration.  But if one stumbles upon adversity, in the normal course of life, it’s certainly better to take Victor Frankl’s approach and use it to create good in the world, than to let it destroy us.

An ex-student was talking with me about bullies at her school – Governor’s school, no less, where somehow I was surprised to hear of such things occurring.  She told me her approach was going to be to use the bullying experiences to make herself better, and kinder, and to grow rather than be defeated.

I applaud everyone who encounters difficulty and makes it sort of a gym for the soul, a workout rather than a destructive force.  Maybe, when someone is unkind, we can counter it with a kindness … to that person in return if we are really really spiritually advanced, or maybe just to someone else in sort of a reverse “Pay it Forward” kind of pyramid scheme.  Maybe when life deals us an injustice through nobody’s specific intention, we can deal out an equal measure of unexpected goodness to someone else.  I will try this.  I’ll forgive myself for those times when I’m too caught up in my own self-pity to be successful, and then I’ll pick myself up and try it again.  Maybe it’s up to each of us to provide for the world those things it’s lacking.  Just thinkin’ …

4 thoughts on “Spread the love, or breeding creativity

  1. I love this post, both the idea and how you present it. Yes, it’s the “be the change you want to see” concept, but acknowledging also how brutally hard it can be to do that, when you’ve been hurt yourself. I join you in the applaud of those who can!
    Have just discovered your blog btw and am enjoying it a lot!

    1. Oh, thank you! I think it’s very important that we forgive ourselves, and we tend to forget that sometimes. I know I’m not always as advanced as I’d like to be in doing this (‘always’ … lol … ‘rarely’ is more like it!). I read something by the Dalai Lama once, where a monk who’d been held captive by the Chinese for years and was finally freed told the Dalai Lama how bad he felt for harboring anger against the Chinese. We’ll never live up to him, but he can be a role model. 🙂 Thank you for the kind words about my blog! I am having a lot of fun with it!

  2. What a wonderful post. It really reached my heart, especially because I am still wondering about these things myself.
    Sharing love just makes such a difference. And it’s the little things that really matter – I’m currently intending to write a newspaper article about complimenting and its beautiful effects when people actually mean what they say. I try to collect compliments, so if you want to take part – just submit a compliment you recently paid or received by commenting on this post: http://nothingofthekind.wordpress.com/2014/03/07/my-best-compliments/.

    1. Thank you so much! I am a huge fan of complimenting people. My husband thinks it’s strange that I’ll tell a complete stranger that I love her dress, or haircut, or whatever, but I think we’re so afraid of what people think of us that we don’t want to step outside some perceived boundaries. People are almost always so appreciative that we notice the little things. Usually my compliments are small things … I like a piece of clothing, or an outfit, or a haircut, probably not worth writing about in an article. And of course, I compliment my kids and husband about larger things … their kindness, their helpfulness … but that’s just living with people. I agree, we can never hurt anything by spreading love.

Leave a Reply

